Perspective

I’m sister #2 and I have to admit I’ve kind of been a slacker lately.  I’ve made it to the gym a couple of times, but I really hate the treadmill and I’ve decided twenty degrees is my limit for outdoor activities. In a couple of weeks I’ll try to start a marathon training program and hopefully that will get me motivated.

The last couple months have been filled with boys’ basketball games.  I help coach my 9-year-old’s park and rec team and my husband coaches my 11-year-old’s 5th and 6th grade team at his school.  Our boys attend a small Christian School K-8 of about 180 kids.  In 5th grade they finally get to play organized sports and represent their school.  They play against other small private schools.  For many kids it’s the first time they’ve played, and probably the only time many will be a part of a team, since we don’t have tryouts.

Both of us Sweaty Sisters played basketball in high school and college, Division 3.  We grew up with a gym next door so we spent many hours shooting around.

Watching Alexander’s (my 11-year old’s)  game yesterday just got me thinking. I was watching a couple of the kids just struggle to run.  One child in particular was overweight, slightly duck-footed, which caused him to have plantar fasciitis issues.  He looked so miserable just trying to get from one side of the court to the other. It made me think how blessed I am, how blessed my boys are, to be able to move, to be able to enjoy the freedom to kick up our heels and sprint across the basketball court or the soccer field.  Running is the basic element in every organized sport.  I don’t know what it would feel like to not be able to run.

I think sometimes I get so caught up in times and pacing. What place am I in? How can I be faster? I forget to enjoy the pure joy of running. I love the feeling of my arms and legs working together to propel my body as fast as it can go.  I love feeling my heart pound.  There’s a freedom and simplicity in running that I am so thankful that I get to enjoy.  I need to remember to be thankful for the gift of a body that can run.

About sweaty sisters

Stories of sisters who are working moms, juggling life and getting our daily dose of sweat.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

