Year in Review and Resolutions

Sister #2 here, I was thinking the New Year would be the perfect time to remember my races of 2012 and set some goals for 2013.

January 2012-  Miami Marathon

The hubby and I decided to take a trip to Florida.  He was enjoying his hobby and attending the PGA merchandise golf show, so I thought I’d enjoy my hobby and run my 9th marathon. Like most of my marathons I had not trained properly. I had run one longer run that November, but that’s about it, so I knew it would be slow, but thought it would be a fun way to see the city.  It was a slightly overcast day in the upper 60’s.  I started out very slow; 9:30 pace, and then felt good so I picked it up the last few miles and finished in 4:20.  I was glad I ran.  There were some great ocean views, and it was a nice break from winter in MN.

2013 Resolution #1- properly train for a full marathon

I’ll always remember 2012 as the year I got to share my favorite hobby with my favorite sister!  I love sweating with my sister, my friend!

September- 2012  Milwaukee Brewer mini-marathon

My first half marathon with Sweaty Sister #1 and also the first half that I actually raced.  I’ve only run one other half and it was to help a friend pace for his first marathon.  We grew up in Milwaukee so it was fun to run in our hometown.

2012-09-22 07.10.15

Sweaty Sister #1 was running with a friend from Texas so I was on my own to race.  I started with the 1:45 pace team, but by mile 8 was feeling really good, so I slowly started picking up the pace.  During the final mile we got to run around the warning track in Miller Park.It was great, but I should’ve looked at the course map ahead of time.  I thought the race ended after you ran around the field, so I sprinted.  It felt great to stretch out and really run, but not so great when we left the stadium and saw a sign that said .25 miles to go.  It was a chilly day, but I was happy with my 1:41. It was great to be able to cheer Carrie on to her first 13.1!  It was such a fun weekend with my “big” sister and her friends.  I think this will be an annual event.

2012-09-22 10.44.48

2013 Resolution #2 – finish a half in under 1:40

In 2012 I also discovered another “running buddy”.  My 11 year-old son, Alexander has started running with me.

October 2012

October 6- Ninth Annual 5K Run for the Prize

Every year our church organizes a 5K run/walk.  I get to be the race director, so I don’t get to run the race very often, but I end up doing a lot of running around.  We raise money for a local food shelf and a medical mission in Africa.  It was a fun day, and I was proud of my Alexander. He won his age group and took fifth overall!

photo 8

October 12-  Light up the Night 5K Trail Run

Not even a week after our 5K I found out about another 5K being run at night on the trails right behind our house!  Alexander was excited to run another race so we bought headlamps and signed up!  I’ve never run a night race before.  There were about 200 runners, including my neighbor who finished her very first 5K!! It was a tough hilly course, but it was fun to look behind you and see all the lights winding along the trails. Alexander was a trooper.  He didn’t walk at all.  He had side aches, especially on the downhills, but he didn’t even slow down on the uphills.  There was a couple that we kept passing when we were climbing the hills, but then they’d fly past us on the downhills.  Finally, on the final hill we passed them and kept sprinting to the finish.  We took 22nd and 23rd overall.  I was proud of my little guy, he was by far the youngest runner.  I’m just going to enjoy the next couple years when I can still keep up with him.

 

2013 Resolution #3 – Invite my sons to run more often with me, be an example of healthy living for them. 

October 27- Team Ortho Monster Dash

Sweaty Sister and I decided that Milwaukee was fun and we wanted to run another half marathon together before the end of the year.  Now that she knew she could finish 13.1 Sweaty Sister #1 was ready to race!  The  Monster Dash is a fun event.  There were over 5,000 runners in costume! It’s a fast point-to-point downhill course.  We had matching fairy costumes, sparkly skirts and glittery butterfly wings.

2012-10-27 07.41.36

Only with my sister will I ever run and sparkle! We planned on starting out at an 8:30 pace but  felt good and  ended up finishing in 1:49 with an average 8:20 pace.  I love running with my Sweaty Sister.  We talk and laugh the whole time, the 13 miles seems to fly by!  Seeing all the costumes gave us a lot to talk about!  We learned that satin is not a sweat-wicking material, jorts should not be worn for running, three girls dressed as candy corns in yellow tutus are not going to finish in front of us, and rainbow butterfly wings help you fly!

Celebrating our first half marathon together.

Celebrating our first half marathon together.

November- Turkey Trot

Sweaty Sister #1 gave the recap of our Turkey Trot.  It was a great way to start our Thanksgiving.  I didn’t feel nearly as guilty enjoying two turkey dinners with both sides of the family knowing I had gotten a run in.

Shorts on Thanksgiving? In Wisconsin?! Yes please!

Shorts on Thanksgiving? In Wisconsin?! Yes please!

While we were running we decided we’re the “happy runners”  We said “thank you” and “Happy Thanksgiving”  to the volunteers and policemen we passed and laughed and talked the whole time.  Maybe we’re annoying to the runners struggling to finish around us, but we sure have fun!  I’m thankful for my new running partner.

2012 was a fun year I can’t wait to see what 2013 brings!

Tentative 2013 race plans:

April- a 50 mile relay with Sweaty Sister #1 and three of her friends

May 19-  Cellcom Green Bay Marathon- we get to run on Lambeau Field!!!

June 16- Women’s Half Marathon-  Bloomington, MN- Happy 40th Birthday “big” sister

August- Battle Creek Trail Half Marathon- it’s in my back yard!!! home field advantage??

September- Milwaukee Brewers mini-marathon

October- Monster Dash

November- Turkey Trot

About sweaty sisters

Stories of sisters who are working moms, juggling life and getting our daily dose of sweat.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

